5 Things About Stalking Jack the Ripper by Kerri Maniscalco

February 23, 2017 Review 22 ★★★★½

5 Things About Stalking Jack the Ripper by Kerri Maniscalco
Stalking Jack the Ripper by Kerri Maniscalco
(Goodreads | Amazon | Book Depository)

Publisher: Hatchette
Source: Purchased
Pages: 326
Release Date: September 20th, 2016
Series: Stalking Jack the Ripper #2
Genres: 19th Century, Historical, Law & Crime, Mysteries & Detective Stories, Young Adult
four-half-starsfour-half-starsfour-half-starsfour-half-starsfour-half-stars
Seventeen-year-old Audrey Rose Wadsworth was born a lord's daughter, with a life of wealth and privilege stretched out before her. But between the social teas and silk dress fittings, she leads a forbidden secret life.

Against her stern father's wishes and society's expectations, Audrey often slips away to her uncle's laboratory to study the gruesome practice of forensic medicine. When her work on a string of savagely killed corpses drags Audrey into the investigation of a serial murderer, her search for answers brings her close to her own sheltered world.

Victorian Era Forensics

If I’m going to read a crime novel, it’s going to be a historical one! Victorian and regency eras in particular seem to be my favourites. As a fan of science, I love seeing how it’s used to solve things without modern advancements. The vet side of me also loves the autopsies and science things. I’m a cool person like that.

csi

Banter and sass

STALKING JACK THE RIPPER has some of the best banter between characters I’ve ever read. It’s so witty and hilarious. Some was flirtatious banter, other was banter between mates. Not to mention the sass the characters would give each other. Especially Audrey when the men would go, “Oh but you’re a weak woman, you could not possibly handle this little bloody thing!”. She’d have the perfect comeback every time.

I got Sherlock and Watson vibes

Audrey Wadsworth and Thomas Cresswell make a brilliant team and their dynamic is very reminiscent of the BBC Sherlock. Thomas is the incredibly observant one who distances himself from the scenes, making deductions and flamboyantly revealing his prowess while also having some questionable social skills. Audrey is as competent as Thomas is but she’s also the more the emotional one, open to the feelings and motives of people around her, more socially aware and not so detached. These two do have more outward and obvious romantic feelings also (WHICH NEEDS TO DEVELOP INTO MORE OKAY THE TENSION #ISHIPIT)

sherlock and watson

Well paced

I’ve come to expect historical novels, even mysteries, to be slow. STALKING JACK THE RIPPER isn’t edge-of-your-seat suspenseful but it is very consistent in terms of pacing. Between character development, banter and plot revelations/ twists I found it to be entertaining the entire way through. I finished it in 24 hours. It’s well written and flows well, making it easy to read.

Once again I guessed the culprit…

STALKING JACK THE RIPPER wasn’t predictable per se, I’ve just played too many Nancy Drew games growing up. I managed to predict the culprit near the beginning (once you realise mysteries try and go with the least suspicious characters, you spot them quickly). I wasn’t disappointed with the reveal though, it did not end how I thought it would at all. That motive was creepy as hell.

shudder

Divider

STALKING JACK THE RIPPER is something I’d recommend for fans of THESE SHALLOW GRAVES and A MADNESS SO DISCREET. It’s a fantastic historical mystery with highly entertaining characters. I cannot wait to delve into more mysteries with Cresswell and Wadsworth.

Rating Report
Plot
Characters
Writing
Pacing
Romance
Overall: 4.4

22 Responses to “5 Things About Stalking Jack the Ripper by Kerri Maniscalco”

  1. Julie @ Happily Ever Chapter

    I still REALLY want to read Stalking Jack the Ripper. It was all over the place last year and I had to add it to my TBR list. I’m weird tho, I seem to have a weird need to read about all things Jack the Ripper. lol! I’m even more sold now because of the sassiness you described. I love strong characters.
    Julie @ Happily Ever Chapter recently posted…YALit Giveaway – Win 50 YA Books!!

    • Bec

      I understand the fascination of Jack the Ripper! Anything true crime, especially serial killers, is fascinating. I hope you get to read it soon :D

    • Bec

      I had a lot of These Shallow Graves vibes! I personally didn’t think it was that gory, but I am a vet student and my idea of gory has been skewed haha. They don’t go too crazy with the descriptions of autopsies in any case.

    • Bec

      We’re too good at spotting the lease expected person! It’s always surprising when I don’t get it. It’s been a while since a mystery surprised me though.

    • Bec

      It was well hidden! The only reason I guessed is because right at the beginning I asked myself “which would be the most shocking culprit?”. I’ve found that 9 times out of 10 the character that fits this will be the culprit.

  2. Kelly

    Ohhhhh, this sounds absolutely brilliant! I had to skim a little having not read the first book but I was undecided about giving this one a read. Not anymore. I love me some cheeky banter and not just flirtations between characters either. Since reading Ellie Marney’s Every series, I’m always on the lookout for more Sherlock type reads. Brilliant review Bec and so glad you enjoyed it <3

  3. Greg

    Love the sound of the banter, and I like that era for crimes as well. Not sure why but it’s just fun to immerse in the era while also having a mystery. :) Nice that it’s well paced too. It looks like fun.
    Greg recently posted…Sunday Post #183

    • Bec

      Historical crimes are so interesting! I think it’s the atmosphere of the whole story and setting that makes them so appealing

  4. Chiara @ Books for a Delicate Eternity

    I loooooved These Shallow Graves so the fact that you compared the two has me SO EXCITED. I really do love me a great mystery novel, and I also love ye olden times so I don’t even know why I haven’t read this yet? I also like banter a lot because I swear to god it is the best foundation for ships, haha XD

    I don’t necessarily need my mysteries to be super fast paced, either, but I do like it when it’s even and not slowslowslowBAM!ACTION because then it feels lopsided.

    I hope you enjoy the sequel, Bec! I hope to pick this one up soon.
    Chiara @ Books for a Delicate Eternity recently posted…Six Things to Know About Our Own Private Universe by Robin Talley

    • Bec

      You need this, Chiara!! Seriously, read this ASAP. You’ll love it.

      Banter as the beginning of the relationship is one of my favourite things

Leave a Reply

CommentLuv badge