ARC Review: Goodbye, Rebel Blue by Shelley Coriell

September 15, 2013 Review 70 ★★★★½

ARC Review: Goodbye, Rebel Blue by Shelley Coriell
Goodbye, Rebel Blue by Shelley Coriell
(Goodreads | Amazon | Book Depository)

Publisher: Amulet
Source: Publisher
Pages: 320
Release Date: October 1st, 2013
Genres: Contemporary, Young Adult
four-half-starsfour-half-starsfour-half-starsfour-half-starsfour-half-stars
Rebecca Blue is a rebel with an attitude whose life is changed by a chance encounter with a soon-to-be dead girl. Rebel (as she’s known) decides to complete the dead girl’s bucket list to prove that choice, not chance, controls her fate. In doing so, she unexpectedly opens her mind and heart to a world she once dismissed—a world of friendships, family, and faith. With a shaken sense of self, she must reevaluate her loner philosophy—particularly when she falls for Nate, the golden boy do-gooder who never looks out for himself. Perfect for fans of Jay Asher’s blockbuster hit Thirteen Reasons Why, Coriell’s second novel features her sharp, engaging voice along with realistic drama and unforgettable characters.

I received this book for free from the source listed above in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

alise

GOODBYE, REBEL BLUE is not only an entertaining read, it is book that also makes you think. There are some gorgeous quotes in this book and the overall message sticks with you. Even if you do not believe in fate or destiny like Rebel, at the end of the book you might just be rethinking that.

Rebecca, Rebel, Blue had no idea that her regular trip to detention was going to result in such a life-changing moment. After being assigned a bucket list, a girl named Kennedy tries to strike up a conversation about life and death but Rebel isn’t having any of it. She pushes the girl away, ignores her, and declines her offers at friendship. The next day Rebel finds out that Kennedy drove over the bridge and fell into the water below.

Feeling just a bit guilty, and trying to convince her cousin that she is capable of doing good, she begins to complete the dead girl’s bucket list.

smilingRebel is the most relatable young adult protagonist I have read about in a very long time. At the very heart of her problems is loneliness, something we all have felt, and she hides it with sarcastic comments and a snarky attitude.

The character development for Rebel was written beautifully, you could really see how much she changed as a person and grew stronger. She became an overall better, happier person once she realized there were so many good things in her life, all because of Kennedy’s bucket list.

Every character in this book played an important role in the story and Rebel’s life, even a janitor and a woman she happened to meet in a flash mob, they all affected her in some way.

The actual completion of the items on the bucket list was my favorite part, I loved the way Rebel interpreted some of them and how seriously she began to take it, even when it was just a nuisance to her in the beginning.

GOODBYE, REBEL BLUE makes you feel all the emotions, whether it’s laughing out loud at Rebel’s jokes or having tears in your eyes at the meaning of this book. It is a truly great contemporary.

Screenshot_11
Rating Report
Plot
Characters
Writing
Pacing
Romance
Overall: 4.3

70 Responses to “ARC Review: Goodbye, Rebel Blue by Shelley Coriell”

  1. Melissa @ Harley Bear Book Blog

    My friend is lending me her copy f this and now I even more excited to read it! Great review!

    • Alise

      Thanks! Rebel’s sense of humor is so much like mine. It’s just Kennedy’s bucket list, but it really ends up making Rebel grow as a person and look at life differently. Thanks for stopping by!

  2. Bec

    SHE HAS MY NAME! That is reason enough for me to read it XD But it also sounds really interesting and sad but also happy. Maybe. I don’t know. I just want to read it.

    • Alise

      Rebel is a really dynamic character, I love her! Not only does she change for the better, I think everyone can relate to her in the beginning with how alone she felt. Glad you like the sound of it!

    • Alise

      The romance is definitely tolerable, but as it wasn’t the main focus of the story it wasn’t as developed as I would have wished for.

  3. Juhina

    awww, this book sounds like such an amazing novel! I am really loving the idea of the bucket list and this sounds like such a heart wrenching and thoughtful novel! great review,

    – Juhina @ Maji Bookshelf

    • Alise

      It really was! I love when books involve completing a bucket list, they always are fun and emotional at the same time. Thanks!

  4. Kezia D

    Ooh, I have never heard of this until you reviewed it! I’m looking for a great contemporary and I think I should watch out for this one once it’s released :P and it seems like there will be quite a lot of bucket-list story. I saw one called The F- it List on NG a couple weeks ago.

  5. Tanja

    I love it when books make you think. I mean I can enjoy those sweet and cute little books where everything happens accidentally and ends up being perfect. But I always want more. I want to read lovely quotes and I want to think after reading a book about world. universe, life and what not. This seems like a right book for me. Great review :)
    Tanja recently posted…Twisted by Laurie Halse Anderson

    • Alise

      Aha, no! I get that, I’m the same way. I like sad books simply because they have the power to make me feel such a strong emotion! Thanks :D

  6. Sunny

    I really want to read this one! It makes me more excited that you say she is so relatable. And the fact that every character we meet is actually important. So many authors stick in characters that are so unnecessary, I wonder what was the point. Great review! And I personally love the LBD gif ;)

    • Alise

      Aw, I feel that way about the Fault in Our Stars! :P
      The awesome thing about this one is that Rebecca’s personality balances out everything so perfectly so the book is actually mostly humorous, although it never makes light of a serious issue. Thanks!

    • Alise

      Right? I really love that in a contemporary because they usually are just light, fluffy reads. I really like the ones with depth :)

  7. Becca @ Nawanda Files

    This one sounds wonderful! I love the title of the cover, but I never really read the blurb fully until now. And your review totally makes it sound fun with the bucket list. I love that she’s a likable main character and that the writing was so quotable. Definitely going to put this on my wishlist. Thanks for the great review!!
    Becca @ Nawanda Files recently posted…ARC Review: Resist by Sarah Crossan

    • Alise

      It is! Fun AND funny at the same time, I think I liked it so much because Rebecca is so much like myself at that age. Thanks! I hope you love it!

  8. Hazel @ Stay Bookish

    Awesome review, Alise! I’ve read Shelley Coriell’s Welcome, Caller, This Is Chloe before and while I thought it was a fun read, I wasn’t able to relate to the protagonist much. Rebel sounds like a character I can love and understand better. And I love reading books that are emotional and thought-provoking so I cannot wait to read this one! :)
    Hazel @ Stay Bookish recently posted…{Blog Tour} Review: Not Pretty Enough + Giveaway

    • Alise

      Thanks! Aw, too bad, it’s really important to be able to connect to a character. I could definitely relate to Rebel so I hope you do too :)

    • Alise

      Thanks. It’s great when a character almost fits the mold of ourselves because it’s that much easier to imagine the story.

  9. Andrea @ Beauty but a Funny Girl

    I haven’t heard of this book before, but I think I need to! This sounds really good and while I can’t say that I love that the character killed herself, I love Rebel’s motivation. It sounds kind of like an awakening from something tragic.

    I also think it’s nice when books have a deeper message. It gives me a warm fuzzy feeling :)
    Andrea @ Beauty but a Funny Girl recently posted…Styxx by Sherrilyn Kenyon

    • Alise

      I’m not sure if it was ever straight out said she committed suicide, I feel like it’s just implied. Yeah, I also like the fact that Rebel took on the responsibility of finishing what the dead girl wanted to do with her life.

  10. Lesley Marie

    Ah, beautiful cover! And a beautiful review, Alise! Rebel seems like a great protagonist and her story sounds so good. I don’t even want to imagine having talking to a girl (and being snarky and rejecting her friendship) and finding out she died the next day… It sounds so horrifying– Rebel seems to take it better, though :P
    Lesley Marie recently posted…Review//How To Lead A Life Of Crime by Kirsten Miller

    • Alise

      Thanks :D She is such a great protagonist because she is so real and never pretends to be someone she is not. RIGHT? I would feel so guilty. I don’t know, she felt bad enough to take on the other girl’s bucket list xD

  11. Dia

    This book looks like it’ll be right up my alley. I love contemporary, and I like the idea behind this book. Can’t wait to read it!

  12. Neysa Kristanti

    Ooh, I’ve been wanting to read this one for quite a while. A contemporary story involving a bucket list always had its own appeal for me :D
    Glad to hear that the character’s development was great and believable! I just really wanted to read this even more than before.
    Nice review!

    Neysa @ [B.O.O.K.L.I.F.E]
    Neysa Kristanti recently posted…Stacking the Shelves #15

  13. Lauren

    I keep reading such beautiful reviews for this book, and hearing how relatable Rebel is, I know I have to get my hands on this. So happy to hear this was a hit with you, and thanks for your lovely, thoughtful review!

Leave a Reply

CommentLuv badge