Marooned: Hidden by Marianne Curley

June 12, 2014 Review 24 DNF

Marooned: Hidden by Marianne Curley
Hidden by Marianne Curley
(Goodreads | Amazon | Book Depository)

Publisher: Bloomsbury
Source: Netgalley
Pages: 336
Release Date: March 1st 2013
Series: Avena #1
Genres: Paranormal, Young Adult
DNF Stars
Ebony has always known that she is different. Her violet eyes mark her out, and her protective parents have kept her in a gorgeous valley, home-schooled, safe from everything—almost as if she’s being hidden. But she’s changing: glowing, getting more and more beautiful, and stronger than anyone knows. Ebony can’t stay hidden for ever, and when she meets complicated, intense Jordan, something explodes inside her—something that can be seen from the heavens; something that changes everything. Ebony is a stolen angel, concealed on Earth. Now the heavens have found her, they want her back.

Fans of Becca Fitzpatrick’s Hush, Hush Saga and L.A. Weatherly’s Angel series will adore Hidden. Full of irresistible romance and breath-taking suspense, this is a sensational start to a brilliant new series. Get ready to be swept away by this spellbinding story of eternal love.

I received this book for free from the source listed above in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

bec (2)

I have never written a DNF review before. I’ve only ever really DNFed one or two books and I never spent time trying to come up with thoughts on them. Until book blogging.

Anyway, this is my version of a DNF review. To keep with the pirate theme these books have been ‘marooned’. Left to die on an island because why do you want this filth on your ship? In these reviews I will have a gif that expresses my feelings on what I read, tell you the point at which I stopped reading, and list my reasons for DNFing. They won’t be long reviews because I have nothing to fangirl and ramble over.

Feelings in a gif:
Abandoned at:

30%

 Reasoning:

-In the first 1% we get an info dump. I learn the MCs entire life story. We learn about her appearance, her anime eyes, how unique and strange she is, etc etc. Just… I couldn’t care less at that point.

-There is no introduction to the characters before shit starts going down. You know how normally you’d get a feel for their personality and what not (in non info dumpy ways) before you notice the real, significant plot come into play. With the info dumping I couldn’t care about the characters, and then someone was getting stabbed, and there was borderline insta lovey connections… No thanks

-I’d just finished THE WINNER’S CURSE too and this book was in no way a match for that.

-HIDDEN did start to get a bit better the more I read as more of the angel and world lore came into play (FINALLY) but I just couldn’t continue.

-I wasn’t enjoying any of the character’s voices, they thought about each other too much after only having met once, and I could feel the start of a love triangle coming on (though I think what I thought would be the love triangle wasn’t actually the love triangle that happens according to other reviews…)

Likelihood of a Second Chance:

Not very. Maybe one day if I’m bored I’ll try again. But with the amount of books on my TBR I doubt that’s going to happen.

neverland

24 Responses to “Marooned: Hidden by Marianne Curley”

  1. Cait @ Notebook Sisters

    Info dumps? BIG BIG NO-NO. Particularly appearance info-dumps…doesn’t that seem a bit…vain?? >_< I nearly DNF'd the book I'm reading now, buuut, my OCD cries that I finish it. I worry, though, that if I keep going with a book I SHOULD'VE dnf'd, my review will be too harsh? Ack. It's a tough life. x)
    Cait @ Notebook Sisters recently posted…Honest YA Blurbs #2

    • Bec

      I tend to have the same OCD. Must finish what I start (wish I had that need when it comes to my writing, but alas). But this… I just couldn’t be bothered. There were better books I could be reading. But what if it gets better later on, etc, etc. It is a very tough life XD

    • Bec

      Yeah it can be interesting to DNF reviews! I just worry that maybe I didn’t give it enough of a chance. But those issues -__-

  2. Maida

    Awww that’s really too bad, Bec! I don’t like info dumping but more than that I can’t read books where I can’t connect with the characters which is what this book seems to have in abundance. And you mentioned love triangle…even if its not….I’m going to pass. I’ve had one too many love triangles lately. Sorry this didn’t work out for you, Bec. Hope your next read is fabulous! Great, honest review! :D

    ~ Maida
    Literary Love Affair
    Maida recently posted…Review: Chameleon by Kelly Oram

    • Bec

      Somtimes I can tolerate info dumping, depending on the authors writing, other elements of the story, etc. But went it was combined with annoying characters I just can’t.

      Thanks :)

  3. Faye D'Social Potato (@kawaiileena)

    Yikes! I think you did yourself a good favor by DNFing it. There are people who will plow through any book despite its blatang flaws, and there are those who won’t go through with it no more when it’s evident it’s not for them, and I’m one of those. It sucks when you can’t connect to the characters because without that connection, how will you ever feel emotionally involved in their plight? The info-dumping seems like a mess, too. I hope you get to have a better read after this one, Bec.
    Faye D’Social Potato (@kawaiileena) recently posted…Random Things in Motion #3: Which Would You Polish More – Your Goodreads Presence or Your Blog?

    • Bec

      I… am usually one of those people. But I think I might have finally realised my reading time is precious. I shouldn’t waste it.

      Yes! Connection is very very vital for love and enjoyment of a book. If I remember correctly, my next read was MUCH better XD

    • Bec

      I knew she didn’t like it so I was hesitant going into it, but I’d also heard some great things from other bloggers so I thought I’d at least try it… Unfortunately it didn’t agree with me :(

  4. Kirsty-Marie

    Yeah…exactly what I thought this would be like. I bought her Old Magic ages ago and left it halfway through because zzzzzzzzzzzzz, and was starting the same as Beautiful Creatures. Bought this one last year on a whim because why not? This is why not. Ugh. I’ve now put it in a box where the poor annoying books go. Info dumping at 1%? New record! I wouldn’t mind it a little further in, but seriously? 1%.No. Stay away. Stay well away. :(
    Kirsty-Marie recently posted…DNF Review: Dark Days

    • Bec

      I’ve heard some good things about some of her other books (unless I’m mistaking her with another author) but if it sound like the rest of her books are like this to…. ehh. I would have hoped there would have been improvement somewhere :/

    • Bec

      haha yep. Sums up my feelings perfectly. There are some good angel books out there! They can just be hard to find… It’s a genre/theme with a lot of annoying tropes :(

    • Bec

      Nothing could compare to The Winner’s Curse immediately after finishing it. Maybe I should have waited a while before starting a new book…

  5. Andreea

    Oh no, when I read the summary, I was so excited to read your review and hoped you would have good things to say about this book so I could read it too, but now, after having read your review, I am disappointed. Too bad that you couldn’t finish it. But I understand why you didn’t. I probably wouldn’t have finished it either.

    Thanks for your honest review, as always.
    Andreea recently posted…Of Triton (The Syrena Legacy, #2) by Anna Banks

    • Bec

      It sounds like it would be a really interesting book and then yeah… Don’t let my negativity perturb you! You might be able to find some redeeming aspects and be able to enjoy it :)

    • Bec

      Oh that’s a shame. As much as I didn’t like it I did have hope it’d get better for other people…

  6. Micheline @ Lunar Rainbows Reviews

    Well, I’d never heard about this book before but now having read your review I certainly won’t add it to my tbr shelf. Like you, I very rarely DNF books so the fact that this one earned a DNF from you speaks volumes. Info dumps right at the start like that are a massive no-no and add that to the lack of character intros makes me cringe just thinking about it >.< I think you did the right thing DNFing this one and I hope your next read is a much better one! Lovely honest review ^^
    Micheline @ Lunar Rainbows Reviews recently posted…Review: The Raven Boys

    • Bec

      Yeah it takes a lot for me to consider DNFing and it didn’t help that I was bored at the time.

      Thanks :)

    • Bec

      hahaha she should be awesome by association, but just not as awesome as you XD

      I have heard some good things about her other books, maybe her other characters are better. I don’t think my mood going into this helped things either :/ You never know, if you liked her other stuff maybe you’ll be able to cope with this :)

Leave a Reply

CommentLuv badge