Mini Review: A Shimmer of Angels (DAC)

February 10, 2013 Review 14

Mini Review: A Shimmer of Angels (DAC)
A Shimmer of Angels by Lisa M. Basso
(Goodreads | Amazon | Book Depository)

Publisher: Month 9 Books
Source: Netgalley
Pages: 302
Release Date: January 29th 2013
Genres: Fantasy & Magic, Paranormal, Young Adult
one-star
In this compelling and spirited debut novel, 16-year-old Rayna Evans has spent the last three years in a mental institution for seeing angels—intent on remaining free, she ignores signs that she may be slipping into a world she has tried to climb out of. When her hallucinations begin showing up at school, can she keep her sanity and prevent students from dying at the hands of angels she cannot admit to seeing? Psychiatry, fantasy, and realism come together here in a story of a young girl struggling with identity, secrets, and confronting her greatest fears.

I received this book for free from the source listed above in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

alise
So I am actually going to take a cop-out here, and refer you over to my friend, Zuleeza, who said my feelings for this book perfectly. You can read her review here.

But if you want my specific thoughts, hang around!

 This book is a common, cliche angel novel. The concept behind it is great, people thinking Rayna is crazy because she sees angels? However, this interesting concept is also part of the novel’s downfall. The therapy she goes through seems a little..much. A bit overdone and unrealistic. Plus, if I was seeing something I sure as heck shouldn’t be seeing, I’d keep my trap shut about it.
Yay for Paint!
Anyway, things are just kind of settling down for Rayna, the therapy is working, and she hasn’t seen an angel in awhile. Lo and behold, she walks in to her class and an angel is STANDING RIGHT THERE. In her class. Hey, doesn’t this sound familiar?
Yeah, thought so. Plus it’s all a little too much of a coincidence. Can anyone guess what happens next? Guess. No, really, guess. Because you probably have no chance of getting it wrong. She’s drawn to mysterious boy, and of course it’s mutual, although we won’t ever understand why.  What follows is just kind of fluff.
So that’s my two cents. A predictable story with a semi-interesting mystery. I recommend it for fans of FALLEN, and HUSH, HUSH. If you hadn’t guessed, I will not be continuing this series.
Rating Report
Plot
Overall: 1

14 Responses to “Mini Review: A Shimmer of Angels (DAC)”

  1. dragongirl

    Aw, that’s too bad. I’m sick of cliche angel novels too, and as I didn’t care for Fallen and Hush, Hush, I probably won’t enjoy this one either. Thanks for the helpful review!

  2. Gina @ My Precious

    Well, I guess we have differing opinions. I thought this book was different from the other angel books I’ve read because of the mental illness part. I felt like it was sort of a niche angel book and maybe the series could carve its own path. However, I don’t disagree with you that some of the other parts were a bit cliche. I didn’t really like the love triangle, it felt very similar to the one in the Fallen series with Luce, Daniel and Cameron. This one wasn’t the best read for me, in fact I think I rated it just ok.

    • Alise (Readers In Wonderland)

      I haven’t read the Fallen series but own all of them (not sure how that happened) and I am really not looking forward to reading them. The mental illness part was original and drew me in, but the rest was just too much to ignore.

Leave a Reply

CommentLuv badge