Review: All The Bright Places Jennifer Niven

April 8, 2016 Review 34 ★★★★

Review: All The Bright Places Jennifer Niven
All the Bright Places by Jennifer Niven
(Goodreads | Amazon | Book Depository)

Publisher: Random House Children's Books
Source: Borrowed
Pages: 388
Release Date: January 6th 2015
Genres: Death & Dying, Depression & Mental Illness, Love & Romance, Social Issues, Young Adult
four-starsfour-starsfour-starsfour-stars
The Fault in Our Stars meets Eleanor and Park in this exhilarating and heart-wrenching love story about a girl who learns to live from a boy who intends to die.

Soon to be a major motion picture starring Elle Fanning!
 
Theodore Finch is fascinated by death, and he constantly thinks of ways he might kill himself. But each time, something good, no matter how small, stops him.


Violet Markey lives for the future, counting the days until graduation, when she can escape her Indiana town and her aching grief in the wake of her sister’s recent death.

When Finch and Violet meet on the ledge of the bell tower at school, it’s unclear who saves whom. And when they pair up on a project to discover the “natural wonders” of their state, both Finch and Violet make more important discoveries: It’s only with Violet that Finch can be himself—a weird, funny, live-out-loud guy who’s not such a freak after all. And it’s only with Finch that Violet can forget to count away the days and start living them. But as Violet’s world grows, Finch’s begins to shrink.

This is an intense, gripping novel perfect for fans of Jay Asher, Rainbow Rowell, John Green, Gayle Forman, and Jenny Downham from a talented new voice in YA, Jennifer Niven.

Everyone has been raving about ALL THE BRIGHT PLACES, especially Bec, I think she threatened me, and it was even announced as a Goodreads Choice 2015 Winner. Obviously, I had to read it. So I did. But now, HOW DO I REVIEW THIS.

“The thing I realize is, that it’s not what you take, it’s what you leave.”

This novel is full of perfectly imperfect characters. Even the side characters who seem to have it all are struggling with something on the inside. Although I wish said side characters had been given a little more depth, I’m okay with this because this novel really focused on developing the two main characters, Violet and Finch. They were just so authentic, their thoughts and actions are easy to relate to and feel for.

The pacing in this book was also great, I kept turning the pages and wanting to return to this story whenever I put the book down.

“No more winter at all. Finch, you brought me spring.”

When I finally picked this up, all I knew was that it was going to be sad, based on the reactions. I didn’t even really know the synopsis. Halfway through reading it, when updating Goodreads, I saw that it was toted as “The Fault in Our Stars meets Eleanor and Park,” and I really couldn’t/didn’t see why. Boy, was I surprised. Until the last 20% or so. Still, this book can definitely hold its own and deserves to be known as more than a “TFIOS copy.”

ALL THE BRIGHT PLACES depicts raw, real emotions. It is unflinchingly honest and heartbreaking yet hopeful at the same time. It has an important message, and I would definitely recommend checking this one out.

“You are all the colors in one, at full brightness.”

cropped-Screenshot_11.jpg
Rating Report
Plot
Characters
Writing
Pacing
Romance
Overall: 3.8

34 Responses to “Review: All The Bright Places Jennifer Niven”

  1. Tasya

    My friend keeps recommending this book to me, saying it will rip my heart out. I guess based on other reviews I believe she’s right! I really hate it when book is marketed as “[insert famous book] meets [insert another famous book]” it sounds like the book is unoriginal…. But anyways this book sounds like a really beatiful and heartfelt story. Glad you liked it!
    Tasya recently posted…Remakes and Adaptations In General

    • Alise

      That bothers me too because then the two will always be compared. This one definitely holds its own though!

  2. Bec

    This book DESTROYED me. So many feels and such an important theme to discuss. I’m glad you liked it!

  3. Sinead

    Oh, this book. It was recommended to me by a friend and I had absolutely no idea what to expect when I opened it, but my God, it hit me right in the feels. I don’t even know if I’ll ever be able to re-read it, it was so raw. And yet I love the quotes in this book, they’re so inspiring. One is actually on the heading of my blog! Great review :)
    Sinead recently posted…Review: The Iron Traitor by Julie Kagawa

  4. Olivia Galt

    Glad you enjoyed it! I really liked this one too, but it seems to have a lot of people who either loved it or hated it. It was just so easy to read and I flew through it. The characters seemed real and relatable – FInch was my favorite.
    Olivia Galt recently posted…Back To Blogging

  5. Micheline @ Lunar Rainbows Reviews

    Lovely review my friend! I’ve seen this book around naturally, but since I still haven’t read TFIOS and didn’t like E&P I wasn’t paying it much attention. I think I need to read TFIOS first and then see from there….and you know me with needing to be in the ‘right mood’ to read books like these^^ In any case, thanks for making me pay more attention :)
    Micheline @ Lunar Rainbows Reviews recently posted…Review: The House of Hades

    • Alise

      Thanks! :) Actually I’m not sure if I would recommend reading TFIOS before this one but that is just what I wish I had done, haha. Sure!

  6. Romi

    Ah, gorgeous review, Alise! You did this one really beautifully, and the quotes you picked were… lovely. I think this book has a lot of gorgeous quotes and these ones are ace choices. And what now may come as a surprise is: I dnf=ed this one. *laughs* I’m not a massive contemporary fan at the best of times and the tone and characters of this just really frustrated me early on, and I didn’t give them much of a chance to redeem themselves before I gave up. I did skim the book, and think I’d have been mostly unhappy with how things went along and the character dynamics, but I’m happy so many people get so much from it. That’s book life, I guess!
    Again, lovely review. xx
    Romi recently posted…Review: Iris and the Tiger by Leanne Hall…

  7. Srishti and Yomna

    I loved this book a lot and I will recommend it to people a lot. At first it took me a while to get into, which is surprising because of the amazing hook. Yomna and I (we both own a blog) reviewed it, What surprised me is that I didn’t cry my eyeballs out! Just like you mentioned the book goes to an extent of realism, much like the Fault in Our Stars by John Green. I liked this book, however, more because the character development is amazing. The author has a very flowing way of writing too! Now I am just ranting, sorry :) I absolutely loved your post and agree with your opinions!
    Srishti and Yomna recently posted…Quote of the week #5: April 10 – April 16 {Yomna’s pick}

    • Alise

      I’m glad you guys both enjoyed it! No worries, I love to read everyone’s thoughts. I don’t think I cried until the last few pages but it was still an emotional read. Thanks!

  8. Lonna

    Now I feel bad that I couldn’t swing by the library to check this out, even though it was on my way, even though it was already reserved for me, and even though it’s my Book of the Month read. Sigh. Thanks a lot Alise. ;) I guess, I will have to find a way to pick it up from the library soon. Sounds quite emotionally dense, but in a good way. I can’t wait to read it. Great review!
    Lonna recently posted…April New Release Giveaway

Leave a Reply

CommentLuv badge