Review: Maybe One Day by Melissa Kantor

April 16, 2014 Review 34 ★★★★

Review: Maybe One Day by Melissa Kantor
Maybe One Day by Melissa Kantor
(Goodreads | Amazon | Book Depository)

Publisher: HarperCollins
Source: Borrowed
Pages: 384
Release Date: February 18th, 2014
Genres: Contemporary, Family, Friendship, Social Issues, Young Adult
four-starsfour-starsfour-starsfour-stars
Zoe and her best friend, Olivia, have always had big plans for the future, none of which included Olivia getting sick. Still, Zoe is determined to put on a brave face and be positive for her friend.

Even when she isn’t sure what to say.

Even when Olivia misses months of school.

Even when Zoe starts falling for Calvin, Olivia’s crush.

The one thing that keeps Zoe moving forward is knowing that Olivia will beat this, and everything will go back to the way it was before. It has to. Because the alternative is too terrifying for her to even imagine.

In this incandescent page-turner, which follows in the tradition of The Fault in Our Stars, Melissa Kantor artfully explores the idea that the worst thing to happen to you might not be something that is actually happening to you. Raw, irreverent, and honest, Zoe’s unforgettable voice and story will stay with readers long after the last page is turned.

alise

For some reason, this one had completely escaped my radar until I saw some glowing ARC reviews coming in and realized I had better get my hands on it because I knew it would be Something Amazing. I was not wrong! MAYBE ONE DAY was a great read.

“Time does not care how precious it is, how hard you are working not to squander it. Time passes.”

I get pretty emotional when it comes to these books so I was prepared to be ripped apart. That didn’t happen. MAYBE ONE DAY has more of a between the lines sadness than a Fault in Our Stars-esque “you are going to feel sad about this and you are going to like it.” Both are great books but they could not be more different.

The writing in this book was so easy to fall into and get lost in. It’s pretty simple for the most part, but has some beautiful descriptions which, to me, is the best kind of writing. It was great to just sit down and read a good chunk of it without realizing how far you are through it.

“I was just thoughts, just air. There was nothingness all around me. Was this what it was like to be dead? When you died, did you still sense everything going on around you, only it was happening so far away that you didn’t care about it? You were floating through space and time, and nothing that happened to you mattered because nothing really could happen to you because you didn’t exist?”

There are lots of moments in this book that will make you cry
while you tumble down a dark abyss of feelings and scream

buzz lightyear no gif

but there are also moments that will lift you up and make you laugh or smile.

There can always be more YA that focuses on other relationships other than just romance and MAYBE ONE DAY did that very thing. At its heart, it’s a story about friendship, which can be just as strong as any romance. Zoe and Olivia are great characters and they make an amazing duo. Their friendship is tested all throughout the book and while their relationship is by no means unicorns and rainbows, they truly love each other.

disney animated GIF

Now, that isn’t to say there isn’t a romance. Calvin, the love interest, is a pretty big cliche. He’s nearly perfect with a gorgeous face and an even better body. And of course he has to be sweet and caring, even though that goes against everything thing main character has said about him. Cue the predictable “wow, I misunderstood him so much now I must fall in love with him” scene. Meanwhile, I was somewhat picturing him like this:

fail animated GIF

I ended up really liking the book but something kept me from totally loving it. Definitely give this one a try, because it’s a great contemporary book about friendship and how it can persevere even through a tragedy.

Screenshot_11
Rating Report
Plot
Characters
Writing
Pacing
Romance
Overall: 4

34 Responses to “Review: Maybe One Day by Melissa Kantor”

  1. Tanja

    I have seen this one around and I really want to read it. I mean books that make me cry to tend to be my favorite so I don’t think I’ll be able to resist this one. I’m so glad you enjoyed it. Great review, Alise :)
    Tanja recently posted…Waiting on Wednesday (#91)

    • Alise

      Haha, I’m the same way! You know it’s a good book if it can make you feel such a wide variety of emotions. Thanks!

    • Alise

      Me too! Friends fight sometimes and I’m glad that was included in the book because like you said, it made it so much more real. Yeah, I liked the letter she wrote too.

      Thank you!

    • Alise

      I thought about that too. But it’s kind of like the vampire books too, every single one of them inevitably gets compared to Twilight. It really was! Thank you!

  2. Jessica @ Rabid Reads

    This one didn’t hit my radar until I saw a few reviews for it either, but it immediately got wishlisted. I’m glad to know it’s not “you are going to be sad, and you are going to like it,” *snickers* b/c that’s something that requires a LOT of mental preparation for me. So yeah. I’ll definitely be reading this at some point. I’ll just have to overlook how nearly perfect Calvin is. Which shouldn’t be hard b/c he’s not the point ;)
    Jessica @ Rabid Reads recently posted…Review: Gameboard of the Gods by Richelle Mead

    • Alise

      Yes! The friendship is really what drew me to this one and the rest was just kind of icing on the cake. Er, except the sickness part, that’s no fun to look forward to. Haha! You couldn’t be more right, he really isn’t! I hope you like it!

  3. Emma @ Never Judge a Book

    I’ve heard a lot of positive reviews for this one especially since Jasprit’s review over at the Reader’s Den. But for me since reading The Fault in Our Stars, anything that remotely about illness, or overcoming it like cancer. I’ve stayed clear from. At the time of reading it, I may have given it a slightly generous rating than I should. As much as I would love to say I will give this ago, I’m not sure if it will be my kind of book. But a lovely review all the same, Alise. Sorry for the negative comment on the book. :)
    Emma @ Never Judge a Book recently posted…RELEASE DAY LAUNCH – DON’T LOOK BACK by Jennifer L. Armentrout!

    • Alise

      You mean you didn’t like The Fault in Our Stars, right? I think I gave it four stars but I know a lot of people who refuse to read it or books similar so no worries! This one does focus on cancer but the backdrop is friendship instead of the romance like in TFioS. Thanks :D

  4. A Canadian Girl

    Lol, I love the GIFs you and Bec use. I haven’t really heard much about this one (or read TFIOS yet) but I’ll check it out now. I always like reading books where the focus is on friendship rather than romance. Thanks for the recommendation, Alise.
    A Canadian Girl recently posted…Waiting on Wednesday: Illusive

    • Alise

      Thank you! Searching for the gifs is probably my favorite part of writing a review haha. Me too, especially since it’s so rare to find a book like that!

    • Alise

      Thank you :D The friendship was seriously perfectly so I will definitely take that trade for the romance being less than stellar.

  5. Melliane

    oh friendship? as easily writing? I love that! It’s nice to find a book you can read like that, it’s always delightful. I confess I didn’t know this one, but you made me curious. It’s not usually the books I read but it’s nice from time to time.
    Melliane recently posted…Year’s Best SF 18 by David G. Hartwell

    • Alise

      I’m glad you discovered it then :D I love branching out into other genres, especially when the usual reads get repetitive, you know?

  6. Kirsty-Marie

    See, exactly. It wasn’t what I was expecting at all.
    Don’t get me wrong, I found it sad and everything and I did cry a little, but not like The Fault in Our Stars (totally ugly cried. A lot.) because I just kind of felt like we had closure by the end of it. But, I do think that sadness was different because of the perspective it was in, and the relationship. I was just really glad it was about the friendship and it really did just make it stand apart from the rest because of it. Glad you enjoyed it! :) The last gif though <3 haha.
    Kirsty-Marie recently posted…Review: The Fearless

    • Alise

      Yep. I know what you mean. A few tears but I was sobbing at the end of The Fault too. I’m not sure what the difference was exactly but one affected me a lot more than the other. Ah yeah, the friendship definitely set it apart. Thanks :) Haha, I had to put that in there, I was laughing at that for so long xD

  7. Zoe @ The Infinite To-Read Shelf

    Yeah! So glad you enjoyed this one as much as I did Alise! It was definitely a heartbreaking read, wasn’t it? And I agree…the friendship dynamics between Zoe and Olivia were definitely one of the highlights of the story. The friendship between them not only made since (both of their passions for dancing, their opposite personalities) but it felt so realistic to me. In a way, it kind of reminded me of my best friend!

    Thanks for sharing Alise, and, as always, FANTASTIC review! <3
    Zoe @ The Infinite To-Read Shelf recently posted…Prisoner of Night and Fog

    • Alise

      Gosh, it really was. I think it was even more so because of that awesome friendship. I love how we got glimpses of when Olivia wasn’t sick too because wow, character development! YES so realistic! Aw :)

      Thank you so much, Zoe :3

  8. Emily @ Forever Literary

    I have heard such contrasting reviews of this book – half of bloggers seem to love it, and the other half seem to hate it. I’m glad to hear you don’t fall into the latter group, and you make this book sound pretty good, aside from Calvin, that is. I despise those perfect love interests, but Maybe One Day’s friendship seems to make up for it. Since I’ve heard so many conflicting opinions, I’m still debating whether or not I want to give this book a try, but your review definitely swayed me toward “yes.”
    Emily @ Forever Literary recently posted…The Chance You Won’t Return by Annie Cardi

    • Alise

      I haven’t read many reviews of this one so that is interesting to know! Yeah, it was pretty good. Little things like Calvin brought it down but this one will always be one of my favorite despite all that. Yeah! I said something like that in another comment-I’d take the friendship over the romance any day. Yay! :D

  9. Wattle

    I haven’t heard of this book before, but think I’ll have to check it out. I bet I totally think of Ken when I read about Calvin ;)

    Perhaps those that didn’t like it were expecting it to be like The Fault In Our Stars and were then disappointed they got something different? That’s the vibe I’m getting from those on GR who have reviewed it. Interesting.
    Wattle recently posted…Showcase Sunday #13

    • Alise

      Yep, it’s inevitable now. Calvin will forever be Ken.

      That’s probably the case. I really don’t know because I haven’t really read any reviews at all haha. Everyone automatically compares every book will illness to The Fault now so I guess I can see that.

    • Alise

      They are definitely different, but share the same idea if that makes sense. Yeah, this one focuses on a pretty realistic friendship between the two girls so it was a really nice change! Thanks :)

Leave a Reply

CommentLuv badge